Ideas for trial expire notification needed

7Pass is available on MartketPlace for a small fee of $0.99 and is also available as a trial.

In version 1.3, 7Pass will start to show notification screen after 50 usages when user view any entry:

image

When user updates his database, the count started again at 1.

Clearly, this notification is annoying. I wanted to let user know that he can buy the app to support the author, not for the author’s income. I work fulltime as a desktop developer and extremely happy with my job. I develop 7Pass for my love for KeePass, not for financial reason.

I’d want 7Pass to have a better way to tell the user that he can support me, but in a way that doesn’t prevent him from using 7Pass, something very gentle. I have some ideas in mind:

  • Something like the notification when you receive an SMS, which can be clicked on to allow user to buy 7Pass.
  • Keep the notification, but then resets the count to 1 again, repeating the cycle.
  • A small link at the bottom of the Entry page to allow user to buy 7Pass.

After DropBox support, I’ll add support for multiple database, so the idea of counting based on database/application usage will have to be considered.

Please give me advise how to do this.

2 thoughts on “Ideas for trial expire notification needed

  1. hmm is it possible to let the notification come in after x seconds? maybe when the user has the db open as more than x seconds a notification is displayed. its not as anyoing like the “notification by selecting a entry”.

Leave a Reply

