FAQ Updated: why 7Pass says my database signature is invalid

If you have a database that works on your PC but not on 7Pass, and 7Pass tells you “Invalid file signature detected”:

image

It’s possible that your server is using a HTML page to redirect your browser to the real download URL.

This is the common behaviour of file sharing sites, or the site requires that the user has to be logged in. This works fine on your PC, but 7Pass cannot handle javascript and cookies, so it cannot download your file if the server needs these information.

In the next version of 7Pass, it will have DropBox integration to allow you to download your database using a secure encryption so that the file is always protected, without the issue described in this post.

23 thoughts on “FAQ Updated: why 7Pass says my database signature is invalid

  1. there are two things from today: first there was an error, when i use favicons for webpages/customized icons. i have send a error report for your future development. but that not a problem, after deleteing all the icons, the file could be opened succesfully. but there comes some other idea by me: im using the keepass db at work. there is the only way to save the database to a webdav drive. the url is a https address. 7pass couldnt open from a url with https. can you add https/webdav support? i dont know if this is the same nightmare as with the ftp thing, but it would be cool. i love to see the new icon feature in the actual version. thx for that.

    • Hi Sebastian,

      Your web server’s certificate must be valid in order for 7Pass to download file from your server via https. I’ve tried and 7Pass was able to access https://github.com, of course it’s a HTML page so the file will be invalid, but the download is successful.

      Please check what is the problem shown by 7Pass:
      – Invalid signature: probably your server served 7Pass a HTML page.
      – Remote server error: probably your server’s certificate is not trusted/invalid/expired, or your server fails to serve the file.

      DropBox support will be in the next version, which I’ve done the implementation. I’ll need to have a proper UI for the DropBox integration and then submit the update for MarketPlace.

    • Hi Sebastian,

      The NotFound error may indicates that your server’s SSL certificate is not trusted. It’s unfortunately that WP7 chooses to throw an error with NotFound if the certificate is invalid.

      Currently, I use Uri.IsWellFormedUriString for the validation of the url. I’ll check if WP7 supports having username & password in the URL.

      Do you think that DropBox support will also fix your issue?

  2. DropBox Support would be great. So i can use it @home and with the Device. @work i can DropBox use only via the WebGUI. For the mean time i have setup now a workaround:

    On the desktop @Home i load my database via a password secured WebDav Source. KeePass can write to this source to, so i can save the database back. With every save, i invoke the trigger system to sync my database also to the FTP server of my website. I can access this with 7Pass without problems.

    @Work i can use FTP, so i load and save the database to the same WebDav Source as @Home. The only difficult part was setting up the trigger @home, because the trigger was looping. but this works now. i am new to KeePass 2 format, since i have used KeePass 1 since the last years.

    With the release of DropBox support, i can make a new test, if this works better for me. there is a service DropDav. with his i can access my DropBox folder via WebDav protocol. if this works @work, then this is a great solution, my only concern is the security of this third party server. i dont know anything about this.

  3. wp7ger says:

    I tried to get 7pass to work with my database stored on my whs (Acer 341) behind a router (Fritzbox7270) with no luck so far. Since I have webDAV running I hope you will add webDAV support soon🙂

    wp7ger

    • Das funktioniert bereits wunderbar. Hab auch die 7270 mit 7Pass am Laufen. Sowohl mit dem WebDav von 1und1, als auch GMX und DropDav (WebDav für Dropbox) funktionierts…

      • wp7ger says:

        Thnks für die Info, gut zu wissen das webDAV prinzipiell funktioniert🙂. Dann stimmt vermutlich noch irgendwas nicht mit den Zugriffsrechten auf meinem Windows Home Server .. werd ich noch ein wenig rumbasteln müssen🙂

        wp7ger

    • wp7ger says:

      Hallo Sebastian,

      ich glaube nun gebe ich allmählich auf. Ich bekomme weder mit 7pass noch mit dem keepass client selbst Zugriff auf die DB wenn ich versuche folgendermassen zuzugreifen:
      https://meinehomeserverurl.com/MeinWevdavFreigegebenesVerzeichnis/MeineKeePass.kdbx
      Benutzername und Passwort
      Ich bekomme immer ein “not found”.
      Wenn ich mit einem anderen Rechner über “Netzlaufwer verbinden” mit den gleichen wie oben genannten Daten ein Netzlaufwerk einbinde und dann aus dem Explorerfenster die kdbx aufrufe läd mir keepass meine DB ohne Probleme.

      Falls du mir noch einen Tip geben kannst was ich noch versuchen könnte wäre das prima … mir gehen die Ideen aus😉

      wp7ger

  4. Versuchst du das über Dropdav? Also dem Webdav Dienst für die Dropbox? Da hab ich das auch immer wieder. Liegt daran, das der Dienst derzeit scheinbar arge Probleme mit dem Zugriff auf Dropbox hat. Bei dem Server von 1und1 passiert das auch ab und zu… Leider ist für den Desktop Client bei mir auf Arbeit Webdav die einzige Wahl, alles andere wird geblockt. So muss ich damit vorerst leben…

    • wp7ger says:

      Hi Sebastian. Nein ich versuche das über meinen eigenen Server (Windows Home Server). Webdav funktioniert soweit prima nur halt nicht mit keepass/7pass.

  5. Hmmm wenn ich mich recht erinnere gibt es verschiedene Implementationsarten für WebDav, vor allem für die Authentifizierung. Ich hab das mit dem WHS noch nicht probiert, mit APache läufts aber wunderbar, das hab ich mit XAMPP probiert. Wie können uns ja mal über ICQ oder Jabber austauschen wenn du willst, vielleicht kommen wir ja so dem Problem auf die Spur.

  6. wp7ger says:

    Hi Sebastian,

    ich habe jetzt erstmal bei folgendem Stand der Dinge aufgegeben:

    1. Ich kann mit 7pass beim auswählen der Datenbank wunderbar durch die via webdav freigegebenen Verzeichnisse auf meinem whs navigieren und ich sehe meine *.kdbx Datenbanken dort und kann sie auch auswählen.

    2. Leider kommt nach dem auswählen folgende Fehlermeldung:
    Database Download
    Error downloading your database.
    Please make sure the url is correct.

    The remote server returned an error: NotFound.

    It is possible that the server’s SSL certificate is not trusted by your phone

      • wp7ger says:

        Ich muss aber doch schon eingelogged sein, ansonsten könnte ich ja gar nicht durch meine Verzeichnisse navigieren und würde die *.kdbx Dateien ja gar nicht sehen oder?

  7. Hmm vielleicht aber läuft der Download in einer anderen Session ab? Ich hab leider keinen WHS zum Selber-Testen. Ich kann mich aber daran erinnern, das viele Probleme mit dem WHS und der darin enthaltenen Authentifizierung haben. Gibt ja viele Möglichkeiten wie diese ablaufen kann, scheinbar nutzt der WHS da eine ziemlich spezielle Variante.

    Bei allen WebDav Servern, die ich bis jetzt probiert habe, funktioniert 7Pass wunderbar.

  8. m4k says:

    hallo, für alle die auch das problem haben, hier ist die lösung:
    MIME-Typ .kdbx hinzufügen (in den Website Einstellungen) und schon klappts. (theoretisch vom pc)

  9. Fred says:

    Hallo. Habe das selbe Problem mit dem Zugriff via WebDav auf meinem WHS 2011 (Fehler: WebDAV Browser Error listing folder content. ….)

    Wie und vor allem wo füge ich denn .kdbx als mime type hinzu? Auf dem WP7?

    • Sebastian Pfohl says:

      Nein, das geht nur auf dem Server. Ich kenn mich mit dem WHS nicht aus aber irgendwo musst du einstellen können wie mit bestimmten Dateitypen verfahren werden soll. Dort muss kdbx zum direkten Download eingestellt werden. Es darf nicht erst eine Umleitung stattfinden. Beim Apache werden alle Files direkt ausgeliefert, die nicht interpretiert werden, wie PHP, CSS, HTMl, usw. Schau mal in die Doku zum Server.

  10. Pingback: Anonymous
  11. 大手の有名脱毛サロンですらたくさんある中から、 ここの脱毛サロンだったら安心と思えるような サロンを見つけ出すのは、 非常に大変です 。 自分に合ってそうな脱毛サロンを選ぶ前に、まず、 あなたにとっての選定のポイントで重要なものは何かを決めておきましょう。 費用はどれ位かかるのか、お店の雰囲気はどうか、勧誘はありそうかどうかなどです。全てが揃っていれば完璧 ですが、ここは ネット上の口コミだけでなく、一番いいのはお友達にいろいろ聞いてみて確認したいところです。女性だったら 一番気になって仕方がない無駄毛。
    無駄毛の処理 としては、 カミソリや脱毛テープ等に代表される簡易脱毛器具を利用する方法
    ・ 脱毛クリニックや脱毛サロン等で の脱毛など色々方法がありますが、 既に多くの女性が利用している大手の脱毛サロンが一番利用しやすいと思われます。今では余り聞かなくなった脱毛サロンの
    勧誘。以前はこの勧誘が当たり前で 、多くの女性の方々が、 高額な化粧品等の購入を契約させられ
    困り果てた 時期もあったようです。この噂がネット上や口コミで話題となり 、今では 大手の有名な脱毛サロンでは殆ど行われていないのではないでしょうか 。
    一昔前の脱毛法といえば痛みが伴ったニードル法が主流でしたが、今では負担の少ない フラッシュ脱毛が 多くの脱毛サロンやエステで利用されるようになってからは、 脱毛処理にかかる時間が一気に少なくなっ て、 以前とは違った痛みが殆どないという評価から、 今では多くの女性が最初から始めるという全身脱毛がどんどん増えてきています。

Leave a Reply

